Back to Zhejiang
Home> About>Overview

Overview of Wenzhou

ALMS|Updated: August 13, 2021

Wenzhou is a historic coastal city administered by East China's Zhejiang province, deriving its present name from its mild climate.

Wenzhou administers four districts: Lucheng, Longwan, Ouhai, and Dongtou. Also under its purview are three county-level cities – Yueqing, Ruian and Longgang – and the five counties of Yongjia, Wencheng, Pingyang, Taishun and Cangnan. Under its jurisdiction is land covering 12,110 square kilometers and 8,649 sq km of sea.

The city has been appraised as a National Civilized City, National Health City, National Garden City, National Forest City and a National Historical and Cultural City.

By the end of 2020, Wenzhou had a registered population of 8.34 million and a permanent population of 9.3 million.

In 2020, the year dominated by the COVID-19 pandemic, Wenzhou put in place effective and well-balanced epidemic prevention and control measures – with goals set regarding economic and social development that were met despite the pandemic-induced economic slowdown.

Statistics showed that Wenzhou's GDP hit 687.09 billion yuan ($106.84 billion) in 2020, an increase of 3.4 percent, ranking among the country's top 30 cities.

Elsewhere, the general public budget revenue was 60.2 billion yuan, up 4 percent and per capita disposable income of urban and rural residents was 63,481 yuan and 32,428 yuan, respectively, up 4.1 percent and 7.3 percent.

During the period, the added value of manufacturers above a designated scale – those with annual revenue of 20 million yuan ($3.1 million) or more – as well as fixed asset investment and total exports increased by 3.2 percent, 4.9 percent and 11.4 percent, respectively.

The performance was hailed as a decisive achievement made in helping to create a prosperous society that is developing at a high level in an all-round way.

Back to the top